TheAdelaidean: Going Home the Long Way Around (a collection) (Digital)

SKU: arc00306-1. Categories: , , , , , ,

Product Description

1 Solar Shower
2 Against All Expectations / Nothing but Itself
3 Going Home the Long Way Around (remastered) with Xander Monteath USHK92330603
4 Under the Bright Cuernavaca Sky with Sam Rosenthal
5 The Anchor Tree (Release)
6 Flux
7 Cinnabar Field (remastered) USHK92330607
8 Dreams of Utopia
9 I Spelled My Name but the Wind Forgot with Deepspace
10 Aurora Mirabilis
11 Have Heart, Will Travel

For fans of: ambient, drone, minimal

TheAdelaidean’s growing body of minimalist, lower-case ambient music reflects a desire to explore the still places of the living mind – the ebbs and flows of mood, thought, and memory that tie human experience into a rich, multi-dimensional whole. For Going Home the Long Way Around, theAdelaidean collects a track from seven of his nine Projekt albums adding two previously non-Projekt tracks to broaden the musical journey. Drawing on archival textures (e.g. his own teenage avant garde experiments from the 1980s as well as recordings by jazz pianist father-in-law Ted Nettelbeck) and enlisting collaborators such as Sam Rosenthal, Deepspace (Mirko Ruckels), and stepson Xander Monteath grants his music a layered quality reflected by the paintings of frequent cover artist Thom Buchanan, whose work graces this collection.

What’s the talk of the town?

“Stark, extreme, and beautiful … a unique sonic experience.”
— Exposé Online

“…my blessed escape hatch to a distant present. I keep going back.”
— Mark Frauenfelder, Boing Boing

“I feel like I am floating in the midst of eternity, gentle currents carrying me toward an unseen destination. But this is not a frightening journey; instead it is peaceful and meditative, helping to restore one’s soul like witnessing a glorious dawn or sunset.”
— Dave Aftandilian, Bandcamp

“…full of mystery, hope and despair written under the mastery of deep and ethereal synth pads.”
— Alejandro Clavijo, Reviews New Age

“The perfect soundtrack for a feature film.”
— Rockerilla Magazine

“…excellent work, full of mystery and grandeur.”
— Audion #69

TheAdelaidean is Australian author and composer Sean Williams, an award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author and Discipline Lead of Creative Writing at Flinders University, South Australia. Alongside his albums for Projekt Records, he has released music as “theAdelaidean” independently and under his real name for exhibitions, film scores, and the stage. 2023 saw world premieres of the multi-artform dance work Bárbaros, nominated for a Ruby Award, the independent films Life Savings and Lucid Dreaming, for which he wrote the scores.

1 Solar Shower (from Sounds Like Rain)
2 Against All Expectations / Nothing but Itself (from Eternity Is)
3 Going Home the Long Way Around (remastered) (from and_scape)
4 Under the Bright Cuernavaca Sky (from Tim, Where Are You Now?)
5 The Anchor Tree (release) (from Inner Real Life)
6 Flux (from In the Key of Sleep)
7 Cinnabar Field (remastered) (from Moth)
8 Dreams of Utopia (from Solarpunk)
9 I Spelled My Name but the Wind Forgot (from Adrift)
10 Aurora Mirabilis (from Hyperaurea)
11 Have Heart, Will Travel (from Isolation)

Projekt release: December 15 2023

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information




Release Year


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.