SLAP: Bed of Nails (An index of Abstract Electronics)

SKU: ARC00033. Categories: , ,

Product Description

  1. Iguana
  2. Momma’s Boy
  3. Impenitent
  4. Hand With Gun
  5. Tourniquet
  6. Brutal
  7. Doll House
  8. Punchline
  9. She Makes Love Her Jail
  10. Ritual Bride
  11. We all Believed
  12. Empty
  13. Day In, Day Out
  14. Elegy

love it, share it

pinterest google
From a blog:
Originally Released 1987. Stephen Nester co-founder of The Happiness Boys, known for their relentless instrumental electronic music that eschewed commercialism, eventually evolved his work into SLAP. Between the years of 1984 and 1987 Nester worked on his solo project SLAP with minimal support from others. There are appearances by others on his albums but these are primarily solo works. One notable collaborator however would be Vicki Richards – violin – whom many may recognize for her work with the Florida based band Black Tape for a Blue Girl. Nester introduced Richards to Blacktape (whom she collaborated with multiple times) and whose appearance on this compilation of tracks adds a haunting measure similar, if not more dissonant, than her work with Blacktape. Bed of Nails serves as somewhat of a diary of Nester’s work during this period in the 80’s. One could easily site many influences, from ultra pop electronic pioneers to lesser known acts such as Tuxedomoon. The elements of deep emotional soundtracks are sometimes suppressed by the limitations of the equipment used for electronic music at the time, however, this still serves as a missing link of sorts in the electronic, experimental, industrial, post punk music era. If you find this interesting I would highly recommend exploring this release.

Additional information

Weight .3 lbs

Release Year





There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.