Lisa Gerrard & Jules Maxwell: One Night In Porto (CD or Green Vinyl LP)


SKU: acu00032. Categories: , ,

Product Description

1. Heleali (The Sea Will Rise)
2. Noyalain (Burn)
3. Deshta (Forever)
4. Aldavyeem (A Time to Dance)
5. Orion (The Weary Huntsman)
6. Keson (Until My Strength Returns)
7. Do So Yol (Gather the Wind)
8. A Blessing

The new live album by Dead Can Dance’s Lisa Gerrard and Jules Maxwell is a beautiful re-imagining of their 2021 collaboration Burn. Entitled One Night in Porto it was recorded during their seven date tour of Portugal in November 2022 and is released on Atlantic Curve on 12th May 2023 digitally and on July 14th 2023 physically.

Re-creating Burn in concert was always going to be a challenge. The studio album was borne out of a single improvised session recorded eight years ago at Gerrard’s studio near Melbourne, Australia. Mojo magazine described the original album as follows:

“Burn sounds like an enigmatic requiem, music for your own act of remembrance”

Instead of merely replicating the album live, the two decided to use its melodic themes and sonic textures as a springboard into something new.

They spent four rainswept days rehearsing at a small theatre by the seaside in Espinho and then headed off around Portugal to perform the work.

One Night in Porto was recorded on Wednesday 23rd November 2022 at the world famous Casa Da Música in Porto, on what was the third concert of that tour.

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information

Weight N/A



Release Year




There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.