Erik Wøllo: Traces (Vinyl LP)


SKU: abst0033. Categories: , , , ,

Product Description

A1 Tide 1 4:09
A2 Entrance 2:43
A3 Totem 4:45
A4 Vapor 3:30
A5 Ceremony 6:00
B1 Tide 2 5:59
B2 Discovery 7:03
B3 The Change 4:56
B4 Little Dream in Turquoise 4:23

Finally the deserved reissue! A very limited edition of 300 copies of this 1985 masterpiece, remastered and presented in a renewed artwork. Berlin School synth sequences, American minimalism vibes, new age and oriental influences, guitar-synthesizers, genius arrangements… A masterpiece exploring the emerging MIDI technology of the time. A transportive selection of calming ambient soundscapes punctuated by glassy synth work and meditative drum patterns.

Acclaimed by many, Steve Roach himself said: “I heard Traces on vinyl back in the early 80s. It is still one of my top 10 albums. There is just an elegant, efficient, and emotional quality about it that just holds up like it was created today. A truly timeless piece of beauty.”

Recalling the Traces times, Wøllo explained: “I quit all the bands I played in. I wanted to work on my own using the modern electronic studio as an instrument, like a painter with his oil canvasses. I wanted to make a music that had expansive synthesizer textures and sequencer patterns, layered together with expressive melodic electric guitars. Working with depth, time and space. In those years in the early eighties the studio technology was new and revolutionary, and I wanted to explore all the new possibilities. To be able to control the infinite variations of electronic sound, using an endless palette for creative expression. “

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information

Weight 1 lbs

Release Year


Track Listing

1. Nectar Meditation 73:17


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.