Lustmord: Rising Reissue


Out of stock

SKU: act00307. Categories: , ,

Product Description

01. Decompression
02. Opening
03. Compassion
04. Congregants Requests 1
05. Lust
06. Congregants Requests 2
07. Destruction
08. Congregants Requests 3
09. Benediction
10. Conclusion
11. Exit

love it, share it

pinterest google
German Import – Legendary sound artist lustmord (brian williams) has created a sound that created and epitomizes the sub-genre of dark ambient. Williams began working under that name in 1980, and since then his dark sound sculptures have been highly influential not only in music genres such as ambient and industrial, but also in film and games. Lustmord’s sound investigations are exquisitely crafted manifestations of horror that balance sublime sound references with the body’s natural queasiness about ultra-low frequencies. Lustmord has previously extracted the eeriness from field recordings made in crypts, caves, and slaughterhouses, and combined it with occasional ritualistic incantations and the haunting wail of tibetan horns. His seamless treatments of acoustic phenomena encased in digitally expanded bass rumbles have the darkly ambient quality of nightmares that take you to the blackest of abysses. ‘rising’ was captured live at the center for inquiry, los angeles june 6, 2006, with no additional overdubs or post-production. The performance drew on material from various lustmord albums, melded and blended into new combinations, as well as new material and improvisation. The initial release of ‘rising’ in 2006 also marked the 25th anniversary of brian williams’ project. While the compositions are structured around the three ‘greater magic’ elements of a satanic mass, they are not dependent on same for context and meaning, and as such can provide a background for deep contemplation and, in some cases, relaxation. A dark ambient triumph, an evocative and challenging work that will not disappoint those with open minds.

Additional information

Weight .3 lbs

Release Year



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.