O Yuki Conjugate: Equator (CD)


SKU: vox00068. Category:

Product Description

1. Insect-Talk 06:39
2. Sunchemical 06:03
3. Gathering Shadows 05:08
4. Skinned 03:29
5. Equation 04:22
6. Shintone 01:48
7. Mansoases 05:16
8. Umbra 02:40
9. False Prophet 06:53
10. 200ft Vertical Wall 01:07
11. Departure 07:05
12. Slight Return 02:45
13. False Prophet (original) 05:14
14. Equatorial 04:25
15. Fleshtones 04:06
16. Tegen Tonen 02:12
17. A Gap Between Two Worlds 03:43

• Deluxe gatefold mini-LP sleeve
• Matte laminated with partial UV varnishing
• Edition of 300 Copies Worldwide!!!

British post-industrial / ambient group O Yuki Conjugate arrives on Other Voices Records with a CD reissue of their 1995 release Equator. Coming four years after their lauded Peyote release, the group split and reformed into their Mk II phase with the two original members Roger Horberry and Andrew Hulme, along with Malcolm McGeorge, Dan Mudford & Pete Woodhead (who later went on to form Sons Of Silence on Leaf Label).

Making use of the emergent technology of the early 90’s, Equator was one of the first albums to be mixed with digital equipment, weaving together a blend of studio, live and location recordings to create their own deeply immersive, enveloping soundscapes. Brooding atmospheres unfold underneath a wide range of ethnic percussion and deep, meditative basslines – existing in a unique cross-section of Hassell inspired 4th world mystery, Industrial landscapes, and the rich middle-eastern projections pioneered by Muslimgauze.

It’s a deeply hypnotic work that joins the dots between the late 80’s industrial scene and the smoked-out chill-out rooms of the ’90s, released on the brilliantly haphazard Staalplaat label who ensured O Yuki Conjugate remained total obscurity in their home country. Now revisited, this expanded edition features an additional 30 minutes of material, together with new glorious artwork from artist and actor Frederick Schimmelschmidt.

Produced by Paul Schütze and OYC
OYC on this occasion :
R. Horberry / A.Hulme / M.McGeorge / D.Mudford / P.A.Woodhead
J.W.Gardiner (soprano sax)
P.Schütze (percussion and Keyboards)
R.Jenkins (bass on track 3)

tongue drums, bass, thunderegg, voice, keyboards, samples, wireless, stratus, airtubes, skin, percussion, marimba, digital edits, dharbouka, roto-tom, sholak, finger cymbals, rain stick

Recorded and mixed in London Oct 92 – June 94. Live Mix (tracks 5 and 9) by C.E.Webster. Location recordings (Vietnam and Morocco) by Jez Higham.

Painting: ‘Silence’ by Frederick Schimmelschmidt
Layout by Oleg Galay

A Final Image Nocturnal Broadcast

(c) 1995 O Yuki Conjugate
(p) 2021 Other Voices Records

Originally released as a CD on Staalplaat (STCD088) in 1995 and features the second incarnation of OYC.

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information

Weight .3 lbs

Other Voices

Release Year





There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.