Faith & The Muse: Ankoku Butoh (Splatter Red & Black Or Marbled Splatter Red & White Vinyl 2LP)


SKU: TCM00032. Categories: , , , ,

Product Description

Side A
1. The Woman of the Snow
2. Kamimukae
3. Blessed
4. Battle Hymn
5. Bushido
6. Nine Dragons
7. Harai
8. When We Go Dark
Side B:
9. The Red Crown
10. Kodoma
11. She Waits by the Well
12. Sovereign
13. To Be Continued
Side C:
LIVE Numbers, Houston TX 2010 : ankoku butoh : Tour:
1. Kamimukae (Bonus)
2. Blessed (Bonus)
3. Battle Hymn (Bonus)
4. Bushido (Bonus)
5. Nine Dragons (Bonus)
Side D:
6. In Dreams of Mine (Special Bonus, not connected with the album)
7. Cernunnos (Special Bonus, not connected with the album)
8. Cantus (Special Bonus, not connected with the album)
9. Sovereign (Bonus)

“2009. It has been six years since their last album “The Burning Season” and Faith And The Muse strike again. It was preceded by the EP “Tatsu”, which foreshadowed what was to come. “: ankoku butoh :”

Thematically, this new album reflects elements of Japanese culture, and as we knew they would, they changed almost everything compared to the previous album. Abandoning the frequent references to Celtic mythology that once dominated their music, here they move on to exploring the ancient Japanese religion of Shinto and Butoh dance. A polytheistic and animistic religion, Shinto revolves around supernatural entities called the kami. The kami are believed to inhabit all things, including forces of nature and the land itself. With this as their adopted basis, Faith and the Muse are able to show that Shinto and Celtic Mythologies had so many similar elements that they stepped into this world with ease.

Opening this album like a Japanese fairytale, Monica Richards invokes a Yuki-onna, greeting us with angelic breathes in the opening piece: “The Woman Of The Snow”. Further, the instrumentals “Bushido”, “Harai” are a tribute to Japanese traditional music through Faith’s goth filter, (though also instrumental, “Kamimukae” is clearly a neoclassical stirring chant). Intoxicating vocals from Monica but also a William Faith like we’ve never heard before, spitting lyrics like curses (“Nine Dragons”) and guitars and drums that overwhelm the listener, creating completely unique atmospheres. With “: ankoku butoh :” they masterfully merge all their influences to the point where they have discarded the narrow confines of goth/darkwave, using only what they desire to rebuild and perfect it in their own image. Our favorites: “The Woman Of The Snow”, “Blessed”, “Battle Hymn”, “Nine Dragons”, “When We Go Dark”, “Kodama”, “She Waits By The Well”, “Sovereign”.

The last song of “: ankoku butoh :” is titled “To Be Continued”, so we can only stoically await their return, the continuation of such a special and legendary band. If this does not happen and the journey ends here, we have nothing but to thank them from the bottom of our hearts for the shocking moments they offered us. Five albums, each one better than the other. Five albums so different from each other, but with the common component of the immense quality of all their compositions.

Faith And The Muse is one of the most rare and influential Gothic, Darkwave acts ever to appear on the world music scene. Faith (William Faith), the multi-experienced and demonic composer of nightmarish riffs and Muse (Monica Richards) with that untouchable voice that raises even the dead and a world-music melodist in her own right. Together they created high-level Art and their own place in musical history.

They have our immense & eternal respect.”

– The Circle Music

This 2LP is release in the following formats:
– Splatter Black & Red Gatefold limited to 250 copies
– Marbled Splatter Red & White Gatefold limited to 250 copies

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information


Release Year




There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.