Thanatos: Portland (preOrder at Bandcamp: CD/Shirt/Poster)

Product Description

1. Dazzling 05:10
2. Firmament 03:22
3. Bloodbuzz Ohio (The National cover) 04:07
4. A Certain Sense of Collapse 04:45
5. Cathedral Song (Tanit Tikarum cover) 02:47
6. I Barely Plan To Feel 03:46
7. I’ll Be Your Mirror (Velvet Underground cover) 02:12
8. Hearts Like Ours 02:48
9. Half Past France (John Cale cover) 04:10
10. Entangled Our Bodies 02:25
11. The Shattered Sky Now Settled 03:22
12. Incoming Storm 03:53
13. Creatures 03:01
14. Tangle 04:14

📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘 📘

We did it! This release was crowdfunded on Bandcamp. The campaign reached our goal! Thank you so much to the 105 backers who made this happen!

$2765 raised of our $2500 goal.
105 backers got us there!

Visit Bandcamp to preOrder Portland; you can get the download, CD, Poster & T-shirt.

PORTLAND features 14 all new recordings from Patrick (guitar & vocals) and Sam (of Projekt / Black Tape For A Blue Girl on electronics). We’re very satisfied with this album — it’s a true follow-up to our two CDs from the early 90s. Thanatos’ return to sparse dark-rock atmospheres! Stream or download PORTLAND now; you’ll hear that our new music harkens back to the sound you remember and love from the ’90s.

🏮 A brief history of Thanatos 🏮

Thanatos formed in the early 80s when vocalist/guitarist Patrick Ogle (Padraic Ogl) and keyboardist Sam Rosenthal (Sam Rosenthal) began playing original music in South Florida. Dark Americana? Folk Music? Goth Rock? It’s hard to say. Yes, it is dark sometimes, but it hardly harkens back to the forerunners of the goth genre. It’s difficult to plug the music into a genre. Together, Ogle / Rosenthal recorded 1993’s THIS ENDLESS NIGHT INSIDE and 1995’s AN EMBASSY TO GAIUS. After that, Rosenthal focussed on Projekt Records, while Ogle toured and recorded additional Thanatos albums with a full band.

”Thanatos creator Padraic Ogl strips down his sound even further, leaving only gleaming bleached bones. Few artists can create such compelling atmospheres with vocals and acoustic guitar alone, aided only by the occasional electronics from black tape for a blue girl’s Sam Rosenthal. But Ogl does this with ease, exposing a subtle beauty, leaving the lyrics to glitter in the pale light.” – Jo-Ann Greene Alternative Press

Limited edition: 300
Crowdfunding June 12 2020 – July 13 2020
Expected release Date: August 15 2020

love it, share it

pinterest google


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Thanatos: Portland (preOrder at Bandcamp: CD/Shirt/Poster)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *