Tearwave: Different Shade of Beauty (CD)

Original price was: $16.00.Current price is: $12.00.

Name-your-price on Bandcamp

SKU: PRO00217. Categories: , , , , , ,

Product Description

  1. Shattered Fairytale | MP3 Clip
  2. Holding On | MP3 Clip
  3. Nothing’s Wrong | MP3 Clip
  4. Reflection | MP3 Clip
  5. The Message | MP3 Clip
  6. Falling from Grace | MP3 Clip
  7. Can’t Go Home
  8. Claiming Life
  9. Under the Milky Way | MP3 Clip
  10. Read Me
  11. Love Only Makes Me Weak
  12. Ripped Apart
  13. Comfort in Angels’ Wings
  14. First Time
  15. Forgettable Name
  16. Question | MP3 Clip
  17. 72 bpm | MP3 Clip

A year after their debut, Tearwave returns with this monumental 17 song, 77 minute CD. Overflowing with passion and emotion, Jennifer’s soaring vocals float over guitar glaciers, letting her words flow from a very authentic place, tapping into the darkest sides of her self.

Different Shade of Beauty‘s huge washes of shoegazer / indie-rock / dream-pop is driven by Doug’s sweeping, gauzy guitars creating a dense musical interplay with Joe’s surging bass-lines and John’s insistent drum rhythms. And yet, even with the beautiful layers of musical melody, it’s the ghostly ethereal soprano and dark lyrics which beckons through the tracks, like a woman lost in a wintry, foggy forest.

Much like their hometown of Buffalo, NY, these dreamy melodies can be piercingly cold at times; the beauty serves as a entrance to Jenn’s lyrics which unflinchingly explore her deepest sorrows and regrets. “Shattered Fairytale” discovers the lies in life and explores thoughts of children that are never to be. “The Message ” deals with suicide and false idols. “Reflection” touches upon a person’s horrible self image that is in their own mind, yet effects their daily existance. And having a profound emotional effect for very different reasons, “Love Only Makes Me Weak” reflects upon the losing feeling of giving in and letting somebody have your heart.

Passionate, powerful and intense.

Tearwave blends dark waves of disintegration with shoegaze dream pop setting a mood for self-discovery. Having the listener sit back and really feel was Tearwave’s main goal. Creating a shoegaze classic is what they have achieved.

“Fans of My Bloody Valentine, Lush, and Slowdive will fall into a state of uncontrollable obsession with the mighty Tearwave. Tight rhythmic beats lure you nearer and nearer until you feel as if Tearwave is going to tell you its deepest darkest secret, only for it to crumble into a big passionate foundation of harmony and discordant waves of sonic tapestries lush with ornate spectacles and sights.” – Smother.net

“Tearwave has set the groundwork to become a classic.” – MusicTap.net

“The people over at Projekt Records have found another stellar group to add to their roster. We’ll be watching this group with great excitement over the next few years. ” – Gothic Paradise

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information

Weight .3 lbs


Release Year