Desiderii Marginis: Departed (CD)


SKU: cyc00147a. Categories: ,

Product Description

On his now 10th full length album, Johan Levin offers us a slow, soaring meditation on mortality. The complete certainty of death, and how we cope with that knowledge is what constitues the essence of this new opus. “Departed” retains the sacral expression of its predecessor “Vita Arkivet”, but not within the oppressive confinement of old stone vaults, but high across a raging seas, rocky shores and darkened skies. Music for gazing at the endless ocean of infinity, trying to catch a glimpse of meaning through the tiny rips in the fabric of existence; its magic and loss. The CD and Digital versions contain 3 bonus tracks, reworks of classic pieces “Deadbeat” and “Worlds Apart” and “I Am Without Rule (Sum Sine Regno)”, recorded December 2018, and while sound wise it harks back to the “Vita Arkivet” album, thematically it is more akin to “Departed”, lending it’s title from the medieval mortality motif of “The Wheel of Fortune” which became very popular after the great plague.

CD Edition of 600 copies in 4 panels Digipak. 9 Tracks. Running Time 70:04

Standard Edition LP of 200 copies on black vinyl. Matt laminated Sleeve with printed inner sleeve. 6 Tracks. Running Time 42:15

1 Through A Forest Of Empty Armours 7:54
2 An Immense Hardened Shadow 5:48
3 The Silence Of A Thousand Years 7:12
4 Eternity Shuddered At The Image Of Death 8:10
5 What Death Whispers To The Dying 5:25
6 Departed 8:14
7 I Am Without Rule (Sum Sine Regno) 13:25
8 Deadbeat MMXIX 7:23
9 Worlds Apart MMXIX 7:00

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information

Weight N/A


Release Year




There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.