Steve Roach: Essentials 1984-2004, Space And Time (Digital)

Name-your-price on Bandcamp

Product Description

1 Oracle (excerpt)
2 Future Tribe (excerpt) w/Byron Metcalf
3 A Circular Ceremony (excerpt) (2018 remaster)
4 After the Dream (excerpt)
5 The Calling (excerpt) (2022 remaster) w/Jeffrey Fayman & Momodou Kah
6 This Moment is a Memory (excerpt)
7 Gone West (excerpt) w/Roger King
8 Ghost Train (excerpt) w/Roger King
9 Early Man (excerpt)
10 Hope (excerpt)
11 Moon and Star (excerpt)
12 Almost Touching (excerpt)
13 Graceful Sky (excerpt) w/VidnaObmana
14 Structures from Silence (excerpt) (2014 remaster)
15 Something in Tears (2021 remaster)
16 Early Dawn (excerpt)
17 Walking Upright (excerpt)
18 Fever Pulse (excerpt)
19 Offering in Waves (excerpt) w/Byron Metcalf
20 Vortex Ring (excerpt)
21 Nameless (excerpt)
22 Magnificent Gallery (excerpt) (2018 remaster)

The first 20 years — an introduction to the soundworlds of Steve Roach

Essentials 1984-2004, Space And Time offers an overview of the first 20 years of groundbreaking recordings from noted electronic / ambient pioneer Steve Roach. Excerpting tracks from his Projekt Records releases, Roach hand-selected and edited these pieces into a thematic sonic flow — it’s an ideal insight into his vast recorded history. “Space” and “Time” are two themes that run constant in Roach’s music. Rich with emotion and nuance, his sound creations evoke a strong sense of atmosphere while simultaneously altering the perception of time within space.

From the expansive, time-suspending landscapes reflected in releases such as the now classic Structures from Silence (1984) and the epic 4-CD Mystic Chords & Sacred Spaces (2003) to the fire-breathing, rhythmic-shamanic expressions woven from all things electric and organic on The Serpent’s Lair and Early Man (both 2000), Roach has earned his position in the international pantheon of major ambient-atmospheric-electronic artists. Fueled by his prolific nature and uncompromising approach, Essentials 1984-2004, Space And Time invites the listener on a 90-minute journey into the extraordinary soundworlds of Steve Roach.

Artist Bio:

A longstanding pioneer in the evolution of contemporary electronic ambient music, composer and multi-instrumentalist Steve Roach draws from a vast, unique and deeply personal authenticity. Throughout his decades-long career, he has innovated and explored styles ranging from immersive textural works to ethno-rhythmic adventures as well as the elegant futurism found in his sequencer-driven releases. He’s proven to be an enormous influence on several generations of ambient artists, trance producers, and new age/world music fusionists. Grammy nominated in 2018 and 2019 consecutively, his career spans four decades and nearly 200 releases.

His prolific workflow is driven by the constant desire to draw deeper and higher into the realms that source the true power of sound before music. This dedication to the soundcurrent has been infused by years of transcendent concerts worldwide in dramatic settings from primordial lava caves to massive cathedrals. The omnipresent influence found in his Baja Arizona home base nourishes the creative process while inspiring a growing global audience.

Projekt release: September 13 2022

love it, share it

pinterest google


  1. Reviews Editor

    From Exposé

    For those listeners who haven’t yet found the portal into Steve Roach’s soundworlds, late last year Projekt released a compilation titled Essentials 1984​-​2004, Space and Time that collects 22 excepts from his first twenty years, including collaborations with Roger King, Byron Metcalf, Jeffrey Fayman, Vidna Obmana, and others. The total playing time is just around 90 minutes, and most of the excerpts are in the three to five minute range, just enough to offer a sample of some of his best work from the early years. It’s available as a download-only and the price is certainly right. If you ever wanted to check out Roach’s work but had no idea where to begin, Essentials will be the perfect guide. -Peter Thelen

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.