theAdelaidean: Isolation (Digital)

SKU: arc00205. Categories: , , , , ,

Product Description

1. Motion in Stasis 17:24
2. Restless Time 02:19
3. Deep Rebreathing 14:18
4. Amber 03:13
5. Inward Flight 18:33
6. Have Heart, Will Travel 06:14

On his Projekt debut, Australian ambient/experimental composer The Adelaidean crafts soundscapes inspired by solitude and confinement. Realized during the COVID-19 lockdown, Isolation draws on fragmentary field recordings made by the artist in 1983. Heavily enhanced, processed and sequenced with 2020 technology, the pieces weave into delicate strands rich with subtle shifts in timbre and mood. Each track, inspired by the textures of the source material, explores the possibilities that reside in even our darkest moments — moving from the within to the vast without.

“Finely crafted music [that] is absorbing, meditative and subtly emotive, creating a transcendent, spiritual sound world.” – Chris Reid

“There is a sense of wonder and fearlessness to (this) music that transcends time and space. Quite extraordinary.” – Gabriella Smart

Artist Bio

For over three decades as “theAdelaidean” — and under his own name — bestselling author Sean Williams recorded experimental music starting with tape-cutting techniques in his teenage years. Until recently his musical path was largely sidelined by his professional career writing novels and teaching creative writing. These days Sean undertakes deeply personal aural explorations that, following the great spiral of life, draw heavily on sources and techniques that inspired him in his youth.

Original cover art by Thom Buchanan.

love it, share it

pinterest google

Additional information




Release Year


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.