Raison D’etre: Requiem for Abandoned Souls (Expanded 2CD Reissue)


Out of stock

SKU: OEC00198. Categories: , , ,

Product Description

1. In Abandoned Places
2. The Shadow of the Soul
3. Disintegrates from Within
4. Towards Desolation
5. Becoming the Void of Nothingness
6. Summoning the Void
CD2 (Live):
1. Summoning the Void
2. Mouldering the Forlorn I
3. The Hidden Hallows
4. Disintegrates from Within
5. The Verge of Somnolence
6. The Slow Ascent
7. End of a Cycle
8. The Void
9. The Wasteland
10. Reflecting in Shadows
11. Becoming the Void of Nothingness
12. In abandoned Places (ending)

love it, share it

pinterest google

Italian Import – The expanded edition of Requiem for Abandoned Souls contains the original disc with a bonus track and a second disc with material from various live performances from 2003 and 2004. As with the original release (Cold Meat Industry 2003) the artwork consists of images of abandoned places photographed by Henk van Rensbergen, but instead of being presented with five different layouts all the original images are included in the one and only layout.

First escorted and abandoned by dark spirits, you wander alone through pitch-blackness, following sounds you’d rather run from then to. But there is no other place to go but down, deeper and further.

So turn off your lights AND put out your candle when you listen to this powerful release. The title says it all, Requiem for Abandoned Souls is filled with such extreme talent and understanding in the ways of the desolate decay that eats away at the very structure of mankind, that the music becomes a pulsating, throbbing entity that comes sobbing out of your speakers only to lament the crumbling states of whatever you are stressed about at that moment. It’s a natural sounding catalyst that merely tries to change something inside of you.

The songs are like epic collages of pain mixed with tranquility, of course mixed with an eerie atmosphere, that goes without saying, but it’s the high quality of the material that pushes the album above the rest. The toll of a church bell escorts the listener on an existential voyage through the world
according to Raison D’être, a bleak place populated by shadowy souls abandoned of all hope.

Additional information

Weight .4 lbs

Release Year



There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.