Deleyaman: Fourth, Part One

$22.00 $14.00

Out of stock

SKU: NCC43407. Categories: , , ,


  1. Book of Change
  2. Stay On
  3. Roses
  4. Aravod Luys
  5. Be Still
  6. Temples
  7. Somehow
  8. Jardin
  9. Fill My Heart
  10. Traffic Lights
  11. Arev Tibav

love it, share it

pinterest google
| Portuguese Import | Normandy-based band Deleyaman is perhaps the best contender to fill the hole left by Dead Can Dance’s dissolution. Deleyaman not only shares that legendary duo’s ability to combine traditional instruments like the saz (a type of Turkish lute) and the duduk (Armenian woodwind instrument), but also a musical eclecticism. Deleyaman’s music is difficult to define with words. It has been described as ethereal, darkwave, gothic, world or folk while their work has been compared to a few artists or bands that have come before.

Since the release of the last Deleyaman album in 2006 entitled 3, over 25 titles were written and composed by the band. To avoid an overdose or a lengthy double album and to preserve the contrast between different moods, it was decided to present Fourth in two parts: Fourth (part one) and Fourth (part two).

Deleyaman’s Fourth part one includes 11 tracks and was entirely recorded, mixed and mastered in the band’s studio in Normandy, France.

The overall mood of this album is different from their prior releases. Though the sincerity with which they continue to explore their art is a constant in Deleyaman’s music which remains difficult to classify into a single genre. Their sound is quite recognizable due to several aspects. The most obvious is without a doubt the presence of the ancient armenian wind instrument – the duduk – in many of their compositions. Another aspect of their music is the use of several languages by both vocalists of the band, Beatrice Valantin and Aret Madilian.

Some of the lyrics of Fourth (part one) were inspired by American poets E.A. Robinson, A. Hecht, R.W. Emerson, E.A. Poe, H. Crane, T. Stickney and the Lebanese mystic poet Khalil Gibran. Most of the titles are sung in english except for two tracks sung in armenian and track #8 Jardin sung in french, the words taken from a poem (Nous n’irons plus au bois – by T. de Banville).

Weight .3 lbs


Release Year





There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Deleyaman: Fourth, Part One”