Hexperos: The Garden Of The Hesperides Reissue (CD)


SKU: mor00025. Category:


01 Walking Roots
02 Hesperos
03 The Garden of the Hesperides
04 The Magnificence of the Night
05 Rime glitters in the Sun
06 The warm Whisper of the Wind
07 Artemisia
08 The Call of the Ibis
09 Ritual
10 Loto Nero
11 Nana
12 Winter Rhymes
13 Ave Maria
14 Walking Roots II
Bonus Tracks:
15 Elettra’s Lullaby
16 The Magic Mountain
17 Rime glitters in the Sun II
18 The warm Whisper of the Wind II

love it, share it

pinterest google

Hexperos are delighted to be celebrating their musical adventure, which began around 12 years ago, with the reissue of their first album, originally released in 2007. On this reissue Hexperos included several bonus tracks: a few singles and a couple of lullabies that were originally released as part of various prestigious compilations over the years. Hexperos have bestowed a new light upon “The Garden of the Hesperides” by improving the sound of the album through remixing and remastering. This will allow you to hear and feel the fresh and current energy in these old compositions.

Hexperos are the soprano and flute player Alessandra Santovito and the poli instrumentalist Francesco Forgione. The exotic Mediterranean fragrance of sensual percussion patterns, together with the low rumble of Francesco’s double bass and the soft keyboard pads enriched by the work of violinists Domenico Mancini and Alessandro Pensa, set the appropriate nocturnal atmosphere for Alessandra’s soaring voice to cast its spell. Instrumentation and arrangements are often minimal throughout the songs, but skillfully mastered to balance grandiose dramatic moments against delicate passages, sparsely colored with a discreet Celtic tone that finds its way into some of tracks much through the contribution of harpist Francesca Romana Di Nicola.

This seemingly ethereal touch is nevertheless ineffective in dispelling the predominantly somber quality of the album. In fact, much of the mood that The Garden of the Hesperides evokes can be compared to what one may find in Classical chamber music, yet it has been quite a few years since such ambiance has been so impressively comprised into a Gothic Neo-Classical album, and so perfectly used to display such mysterious sensuality and romance. A remarkable debut, which easily deserves a place alongside the best works from acts such as Arcana, Ophelia’s Dream or Dead Can Dance. Presented in a rich Digipak in completely new lay-out.

Weight .3 lbs

Release Year



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Hexperos: The Garden Of The Hesperides Reissue (CD)”