PRO00137 Sale!

Various Artists: Projekt: Gothic ~ SALE $5

$7 $5

SKU: PRO00137. Category: , , , , .


  1. Audra : What Your Eyes Had Seen
  2. Voltaire : When You’re Evil
  3. This Ascension : Mysterium
  4. Black Tape For A Blue Girl : All My Lovers
  5. Attrition : A Girl Called Harmony
  6. < Mors Syphilitica : My Virgin Widows
  7. Lycia : Excade Decade Decada
  8. Mira : Cayman
  9. < Thanatos : Splinters (re-stripped)
  10. Human Drama : Lonely
  11. Rajna : Rajna
  12. Lovespirals : Swollen Sea
  13. Unto Ashes : Don’t Fear The Reaper (previously unreleased)

A note from Projekt’s Sam Rosenthal: For the 2002 holiday season, the Hot Topic chain asked me to put together a special budget-priced compilation focusing on the ethereal/darkwave side of the Projekt label. It was fun to listen through Projekt CDs that I have not heard in a while, searching for the perfect songs to capture the label’s Gothic side. Included on Projekt: Gothic is Unto Ashes’s cover of Blue Oyster Cult’s “Don’t Fear the Reaper,” recorded especially for this compilation, as well as classic tracks from Voltaire, Attrition and Lycia.

Through March 11, 2003, Projekt: Gothic will sell exclusively at Hot Topic, with over 425 locations nationwide. It’s available on the counter at all of their stores across the nation. After March 11th, Hot Topic will be joined by Borders and all other cool stores large and small with this title. (ah…. remember when Borders was still in business, and Hot Topic carried music……)

Subtitled “an ethereal/darkwave compilation,” this disc is an introduction to the label and to the genre of music that Projekt defines so well, as well as a beautifully designed and selected overview for those who have been with us for a while. This is the upbeat and more rhythmic side of Projekt, a striking overview.

Projekt: Gothic is a perfect starter kit; this disc is a perfect collection with which to encourage musical exploration; offering up 13 tracks of impressive choices by the most influential bands and their most defining moments. Every song is as enchanting and as charismatic as each contributing band is unique. From the gothic comedy of Voltaire to the bleak despondency of Lycia; from the poetic melancholy of Black Tape for a Blue Girl to the ethereal beauty of Mira, there’s something for everyone here. The continuum of music is well explored here. With this disc, Projekt have provided the listener with a perfect sampling. –

“If one were to attempt to take the entire essence of Projekt’s artists and try to condense it into one simple disc, you would have Projekt: Gothic a brilliantly constructed CD showcasing the prime artists on this darkwave and ethereal label. –



Release Year